Professional Engineers Of North Carolina

FALL 2014

Issue link: https://businessnc.epubxp.com/i/403018

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 2 of 31

Fall 2014 the Professional Engineer 1 Fall 2014 ExEcutivE committEE President Neil Deans, PE Kimley-Horn & Associates neil.deans@kimley–horn.com President-Elect Susan Habina Woolard, PE City of Charlotte Department of Transportation shwoolard@ci.charlotte.nc.us treasurer Nathan Epling, PE US Public Health Service nathan_epling@nps.gov Secretary Tom Bach, PE WSACC tbach@wsacc.org Director at Large Paul Shivers, PE Highfll Infrastructure Engineering, P.C. Wilmington, N.C. pshivers@hiepc.com Director at Large Martin Kane, PE University of North Carolina Charlotte Martin.Kane@uncc.edu Director at Large Jim Trogdon, PE NCDOT jim.trogdon@atkinsglobal.com Past President: Bill Roberts, PE Duke Energy Bill.Roberts@duke-energy.com PENc cENtr aL officE 1015 Wade Ave., Suite A, Raleigh, NC 27605 Telephone: 919-834-1144, Fax: 919-834-1148 Email: bbailey@penc.org Website: www.PENC.org Executive Director & Publisher: Betsy Bailey Director of membership, marketing and meetings: Karen Crawford thE ProfESSioNaL ENgiNEEr the Professional Engineer is owned and published by Professional Engineers of North Carolina to provide information, news, and trends in the engineering profession. It is issued quarterly as a service to the membership. Advertising rates available upon request. Copyright 2014 Professional Engineers of North Carolina PENC is the North Carolina state society of the National Society of Professional Engineers. Membership grades include licensed professional engineers, engineering interns, graduate engineers, and engineering students. Contact chapter presidents or the PENC Central Ofce at: 1015 Wade Ave., Suite A, Raleigh, NC 27605 Telephone: 919-834-1144, Fax: 919-834-1148 Email: bbailey@penc.org Volume 46, Number 3 Feature 6 To frack or not By Christopher D. Hardin, PE Departments 4 From the Executive Director By Betsy Bailey 26 PENC Today 28 Buyer's Guide 28 Mark Your Calendar 2 From the President By Neil Deans, PE articles 22 Solar eclipse By Ivan Urlaub and Ralph Tompson, PE 18 A new wind is blowing By Brian O'Hara 14 Above the dirt By Gus Simmons, PE the advertising Sales Ben Kinney 704-927-6273 bkinney@businessnc.com All rights reserved. Te contents of this publication may not be reproduced by any means, in whole or in part, without the prior written consent of the association. Publisher Ben Kinney Project Editor Elizabeth Rennie PENc Editor Betsy Bailey Design/Production Moira Johnson, James Denk Professional Engineer is produced by Red Hand Media LLC 5605 77 Center Drive Suite 101 Charlotte, NC 28217 Telephone: 704-523-6987 Fax: 704-523-4211 Content provided by PENC

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

view archives of Professional Engineers Of North Carolina - FALL 2014